A picnic for one

The Druid's Cosmos

Today I decided to go out in the backyard and have my own little picnic.  I made a turkey and provolone sandwich and some iced green tea.  I also had some cottage cheese.  I spread a blanket outside on the grass and sat down to eat.

As I ate, I watched Mama Goose groom and tend to her nest as she sat on it.  She got up once and seemed to be nudging the eggs, perhaps to tell her babies, “Hey, you can come out anytime now!”  I also saw another goose, possibly Papa, land in the pond.  He swam around and dipped his head in the water for bits of food.  Apparently I wasn’t the only one eating lunch.

I heard all kinds of birds around me; I don’t really know what any of them were unfortunately.  Some were in other people’s yards, others were in nearby trees.  They…

View original post 100 more words

Leave a Reply

